2019 Diary

July outings

1. And the Hastings gallery has been renamed Hastings Contemporary after Jerwood took back its name – and its pictures. See https://www.google.com/search?client=firefox-b-d&q=jerwood+gallery+hastings+dispute   Fortunately Quentin Blake is still to be seen, and some David Bombergs featured alongside an artist I have never been able to ‘understand’: Roy Oxlade. https://www.hastingscontemporary.org/exhibition/roy-oxlade/

The set of large blue boats by Tal R were a nice blue.

2.  Weavers of the Clouds https://www.ftmlondon.org/ftm-exhibitions/weavers-of-the-clouds-textile-arts-of-peru/ was interesting though the lack of labels regretted by me. Even if a very informative booklet is given with the ticket, a label is good for those without bifocals! The natural dyes were lovely colours and some of the little symbols for animals etc. delightful.3.  Almost opposite the textile museum Peter Layton’s workshop was open https://londonglassblowing.co.uk/ and I enjoyed seeing some of the amazing pieces and watching the workers pulling red hot glass from the ‘ovens’. This is a photo I took with permission of some work by Peter Layton.

End of June

Last outing in June was to the Garden Museum to see special exhibitions of work by Ivon Hitchens https://gardenmuseum.org.uk/exhibitions/ivon-hitchens-the-painter-in-the-woods/ and George Rowlett https://gardenmuseum.org.uk/exhibitions/george-rowlett-paintings-of-sarah-prices-garden/   Both rich and vibrant. Don’t often seem to see Hitchen’s flower paintings. The Garden Museum is wonderfully quaint and English somehow, with neatly displayed copies of ancient pamphlets about gardening and learned treatises on plant hunters of the past.

Then – continuing the 2-for-1 theme – I went round the Sorolla works at the National Gallery https://www.nationalgallery.org.uk/exhibitions/sorolla and saw a special display of Sean Scully‘s work signposted https://www.nationalgallery.org.uk/exhibitions/sea-star-sean-scully-at-the-national-gallery#HighlightPaintings90656 and had to see that in memory of the friend who first raved about him to me.

Outings in June

Had to return to Tate Britain’sVan Gogh and Britain https://www.tate.org.uk/whats-on/tate-britain/exhibition/ey-exhibition-van-gogh-and-britain specifically to take another look at Harold Gilman’s An Eating House http://collections.museums-sheffield.org.uk/view/objects/asitem/361/2/collections-asc?t:state:flow=2df96dcb-baa2-4914-ab86-53abad0e813b – I hadn’t recalled what a colorist he was. Great to see the Van Goghs too of course – many only known from books – plus more of the Camden Town group of artists.

Found (well hidden!) room of just a few paintings by Gillian Ayres  https://www.tate.org.uk/visit/tate-britain/display/spotlights/gillian-ayres – the colours online here do not do her justice. Huge – and hugely joyous.

On by boat to Tate Modern for a visit to the Natalia Goncharova exhibition https://www.tate.org.uk/whats-on/tate-modern/exhibition/natalia-goncharova which was marvellous. A wonderful mix of painting – many in gouache – lithographs, costumes – you can read the guide online. As with the Van Gogh show, it is so fascinating to see how artists are influenced by each other and are excited to incorporate and personalise new ideas.

22nd May

I got to the Jerwood gallery in Hastings. Saw some old favourites on show and a new roomful of lovely Quentin Blake characters: Dedicated Readers. https://www.quentinblake.com/exhibitions/quentin-blake-dedicated-readers   Marvellous.

 

It’s May and I have just managed to resume visits to London after a long time.

I had to see the Bonnard show at Tate Modern and, of the short videos on Google in response to searching for  ‘Bonnard at Tate Modern’, I think this has the best colour: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w3adUn9kcjo

Many of the images I know from books and I was glad to see some of the self-portraits again which I last saw at Tate Britain maybe in the 1990s. There weren’t many pictures in gouache this time which I seem to recall were particularly vivid.

While I have been ‘confined’ I followed two online short courses: a printing course with Linda Germain using a gelatin plate for which I used my Gelli plate. Here are a few of my tasks:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

and a composition course with Anita Lehmann